In Turkish times the Church suffered much damage-the choir was used as a mosque. A relic of this is a unique Mohammedan prayer-niche or mihrab, which has been preserved in the wall of the chancel facing Mecca, towards the south- east. The church received its present Baroque form between 1725 and 1775. In 1933 it was again renovated and the Gothic parts were restored.
Of its two towers one was destroyed during the war; it has now been rebuilt. The external walls, with the Gothic flying buttresses and carved doors, are also evidence of the building's past. Inside, the most magnificent sight is the choir, with 19 Gothic cedilla and remains of frescoes from the beginning of the fifteenth century. There is a row of chapels on both sides of the nave. In the chapels nearest to the choir carved Renaissance tabernacle niches were built in the walls at the beginning of the sixteenth century. On the main altar and in the baptistery the works of contemporary Hungarian artists are in harmony with the different artistic styles.
To the north of the church the Garden of Ruins displays an excavated corner-tower of the Roman fortress Contra-Aquincum and the adjoining foundation walls, while notice-boards show the layout of the fortress system excavated in the environs of the capital. The modern group of statues on the fountain (the work of István Kiss, 1971) represents Roman legionaries in battle.